> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.superoffice.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Edit the layout of a card

> How to edit the layout of a main card using the Screen Designer in Settings and maintenance.

<Note>
  This feature requires a license for [Development Tools][1] or the CRM Suite **Core** plan.
</Note>

[1]: /en/admin/license/expander-services

When you have [created a new layout][6], it is time to customize it. Personalize the layout for the main cards and archives to match your organization's information needs.

## Considerations

Before customizing a layout, determine who the intended users are.

* What do they need at their fingertips?
* Do they need all default fields and tabs, or should you remove something?
* Do they require additional tabs?
* What is the logical order of fields?

<Note>
  You can edit the **default layout**, however, you cannot edit the default control settings and you cannot re-assign the layout to a user group.
</Note>

<h2 id="edit">
  Edit card layout
</h2>

1. Open the Screen Designer.
2. At the top, select a screen or dialog to customize.
3. Select a layout in the list on the left side.
4. Click <i class="ph ph-pencil-simple" aria-label="Edit layout" /> below the preview.
5. In the **Edit card layout** screen, work your way through the tabs of the screen.

   * [Add, edit, move, or remove a field][1]
   * [Add link or button][2]
   * [Organize information into logical groups][4]
   * [Add, remove, or restore a tab][3]
   * [Change the number of columns in a tab][5]

![Remove, add and move the different fields in the layout -screenshot][img3]

<h2 id="save">
  Save, publish, or cancel
</h2>

After editing a layout, click one of the following buttons:

| Button         | Description                                                                                              |
| -------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Save draft     | Saves an unpublished version of the layout, which you can resume editing later or ask someone to review. |
| Save + Publish | Applies the layout to the selected user groups **or** sale/project/request/follow-up type .              |
| Cancel         | Discards all changes.                                                                                    |

<h2 id="undo-changes">
  Undo changes
</h2>

If you need to revert to an earlier version of the screen, you can access the following options from the **Task** button (<i class="ph ph-dots-three-circle-vertical" aria-hidden="true" />):

* **Reset to factory settings**: This option discards all changes and resets the layout to the default version provided by SuperOffice.

* **Restore tabs**: This option reinstates any tabs that have been previously removed.

* **Discard draft**: This option discards all unsaved changes and reverts the layout to the most recently published version.

<h2 id="delete">
  Delete layout
</h2>

When a user-group-based layout is deleted, users in that group see the default (system) layout.

To delete a layout:

1. Select the layout in the **Layouts** list.
2. Click **Delete**.

[1]: ./working-with-fields

[2]: ./add-button

[3]: ./working-with-tabs

[4]: ./working-with-tabs#label

[5]: ./working-with-tabs#columns

[6]: ./add-layout

[img3]: /media/loc/en/customization/edit-the-screen-layout-of-companies-and-contacts.png


## Related topics

- [Working with section tabs (archives)](/en/customization/screen-designer/admin/working-with-archives.md)
