> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.superoffice.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Edit follow-up

> How to open, edit, or delete a follow-up; Change the end time for a follow-up in the Diary; Edit or delete invitation; Edit repeating follow-up

<Note>
  You can edit follow-ups only if you are the owner. If you are viewing another associate's diary, you can edit follow-ups only if the selected associate is the owner.

  **Meetings created in Outlook or Gmail:** If a meeting originates in Outlook or Gmail and is synced to SuperOffice via Synchronizer, it is read-only in SuperOffice (except for SuperOffice-specific fields like Type, Company, Sale, and Project). A plain-text warning appears at the top of the meeting dialog reminding you to edit or delete the meeting in Outlook or Gmail.
</Note>

If you edit the time, date, or location of a follow-up - or delete an invitation that you created and sent - the invitees will receive a message about this.

## Steps

1. Open an existing follow-up by double-clicking it:

   * In the **Activities** section tab in the Company, Contact, Diary, Project, or Sale screen.
   * Or, on the different tabs in the Diary screen.

2. [Make the required changes in the dialog.][3]

   <Note>
     If you [edit a repeating follow-up][1], you are asked if you want to change only this instance, or this and all future instances.
   </Note>

   [1]: ../edit-follow-up#repeat

   **Using Synchronizer:** If the meeting originates in Outlook or Gmail and is synced to SuperOffice via Synchronizer, most fields are read-only. You can edit only these SuperOffice-specific fields: **Alarm**, **Type**, **Company**, **Busy/Free**, **Sale**, **Project**, **Internal notes**, **Priority**, and **Completed**. Everything else stays read-only to avoid changes being overwritten during the next sync.

3. Click **Save**.

<Note>
  You cannot edit completed follow-ups until you have undone their **Completed** status.
</Note>

<h2 id="change-end">
  Change the end time for a follow-up in the Diary
</h2>

In the Diary screen, you can change the end time for a follow-up without having to open it:

1. Click the follow-up in the **Day** tab, **Week** tab, or **View** tab.

2. Hover the mouse pointer over the lower edge of the follow-up. The pointer changes to a double arrow.

3. Click and hold, then drag the lower edge up or down to adjust the duration of the follow-up. The updated end time is displayed as you drag.

4. Release the mouse button to apply the change.

<Note>
  You can also change the time slot by opening the follow-up and changing the **Start**, **End**, **Due**, or **Duration** fields.
</Note>

<h2 id="repeat">
  Edit repeating follow-up
</h2>

Changes work in the same way as when you edit follow-ups, but when you make a change, the **Repeating follow-ups** dialog appears.

![Repeating follow-up dialog -screenshot][img1]

* If you select **Change only this instance**, the change will not affect other times.

* If you select **Change all future instances including this one**, the change will apply to this follow-up and all repetitions in the future as well.

You can change only the start date for the follow-up while viewing the recurrence details. To change the time, click **OK** or **Cancel** to return to the follow-up details.

If you decide to change the rule in the middle of a series of meetings, then a new rule is created, and the old rule is stopped at the point where the break occurs.

If you change the start time for a single meeting, the rule is not affected. The meeting is treated as an exception to the rule. The exception can be made un-exceptional by moving it back into line with the other meetings.

<Warning>
  Modifying the start or end date on a recurring meeting after it has been saved is a bad idea. Changing the time on a recurring meeting will work fine, but changing the date will only lead to confusion. **Changing the start time on a meeting will trigger an update on all subsequence recurrences** if you have set the update mode to this-and-forward.
</Warning>

<h2 id="delete">
  Delete follow-up using the Diary
</h2>

* If you delete a follow-up you are invited to, the follow-up is removed from your Diary only.
* If you delete an invitation that you own from your Diary, this follow-up also disappears from the invitees' diaries.

1. Select the required follow-up.
2. Right-click and choose **Delete**.
3. Choose **Yes** to confirm the deletion or **No** to keep the follow-up in the confirmation dialog.

You can delete meetings created in Outlook or Gmail in SuperOffice once they are more than 7 days old.

For details, see [Delete items in SuperOffice CRM][1].

[1]: ../basics/deleting-elements

[3]: ./create-follow-up#fields

[img1]: /media/loc/en/diary/change-repeating-fo.png


## Related topics

- [Change Completed status of an activity](/en/diary/learn/change-completed-status.md)
- [Stop repeating follow-ups](/en/diary/learn/recurrence/stop.md)
- [Add link to document, sale, project, or website](/en/learn/basics/links.md)
