Developers must be cautious/selective with what they send to users. System messages are not meant to be used as a form of messaging between clients!
- Regular users cannot send messages to others, but they can send reminders to themselves.
- Admin or system users can send messages to other users.
KeepAlive
To ensure timely delivery of messages and prevent indefinite queuing, system messages are tightly integrated with the KeepAlive system. The KeepAlive system periodically makes API calls to check the user’s authentication status. When the KeepAlive is called, the server event plugin will checks for any pending messages associated with the current associate. If relevant system messages are found, they are returned in the KeepAlive response.Dismissing messages
When a user closes the banner (clicking ❌ button),RemoveSystemMessage is called, which will remove the message from the database.
If a message is no longer relevant, it is the partner’s responsibility to remove it from the table to avoid unnecessary warnings. For example, after an associate connects to the partner application, partners can check if any messages exists in the message table and remove them.